This program is provisional and will be updated as planning proceeds, so please check this page regularly. Times may change in the final program.

Friday 10th August 2018

1500-1700 Trade Bump In
1600 Registration Open

Emergency Tasmania 2018 Delegate Welcome Reception | Wilderness Gallery

Welcome to the 2018 Emergency Tasmanian Meeting, to be held in the iconic Wilderness Gallery at the Cradle Mountain Hotel. This is the first social opportunity to catch up with your interstate colleagues and sponsors and exhibitors of the Meeting.  The welcome reception also provides a great opportunity to meet delegates who are attending the conference for the first time.

Saturday 11th August 2018

0730 Registration | Wilderness Gallery Foyer
Opening Plenary | Waratah Room
 0800 Welcome to Delegates: Conference Co-Convenors Dr Brian Doyle (ACEM), Michael Browne (CENA) Bess Swinton (PA) & Ryan Posselt (PA)
0815-0845 Plenary Session: Initial management of Severe Head Injury
Dr Simon Brown, FACEM
0845-0915 Plenary Session: The evolution and future of extended care paramedics in emergency care
Matt Cane PA
0915-1945 Plenary Session: Infectious disease nasties
Professor Ramon Shaban
0945-1000 Plenary Session: When to crack it
Dr Jo Kippax
1000-1030 Morning Tea
1030-1200 Plenary Session: The sim that rocks the cradle rules the world
Dr Brady Tassicker, Matt Wooler CENA
1200-1300 Lunch  (networking and educational)

  • Play with the Thumper: Lucas2 practice | Kris Mullins
  • Ocular ultrasound quickie (with DMU sonographer)
  • Poster presentations
1300-1430 Concurrent Workshops (each workshop is repeated)
Waratah Room Mt Rocket Room Mt Pepper Room Gallery
1300-1345 What should I put on that wound? (Facilitated by Dr Iestyn Lewis) The precipitous delivery
(Facilitated by Helen O’Neil & Dr Alex Frain)
Ultrasound workshop
(Facilitated by Dr Brian Doyle)
Crack the chest
(Facilitated by Dr Jo Kippax)
1345-1430 What should I put on that wound?
(Facilitated by Dr Iestyn Lewis)
The precipitous delivery
(Facilitated by Helen O’Neil & Dr Alex Frain)
Ultrasound workshop
(Facilitated by Dr Brian Doyle)
Crack the chest
(Facilitated by Dr Jo Kippax)
1430-1500 Afternoon Tea (play with the Thumper: Lucas2 practice & poster presentations)
1500-1600 Concurrent Sessions
Waratah Room – Free Papers Mt Rocket Room – Free Papers Mt Pepper Room – Workshop Gallery – Workshop
 1500-1510 Ultrasound free for all   Crack the chest
Mt Rocket Room Waratah Room
1610-1700 ACEM Tasmania Faculty Meeting CENA Tasmania Faculty Meeting
1700 Sessions End

Conference Dinner | Cradle Mountain Hotel

Join other delegates in celebrating what we know will be another fantastic ET Conference Dinner.  The dinner includes a 3 course Tasmanian meal with drinks and entertainment.

Sunday 12th August 2018

0730 Registration | Wilderness Gallery Foyer
Plenary | Waratah Room
0800-0900 Plenary Session: Extracting the collective knowledge: Interactive discussion on airway, pain and picking the nose
Dr Mark Reeves, FANZCA; Dr Brian Doyle, ACEM
0900-0930 Plenary Session: Overcrowding Update
Prof Drew Richardson, FACEM
0930-1000 Plenary Session: Ketamine for pain
Matthew Cane, PA
1000-1030 Plenary Session: The HOCUS in PoCUS! Healthcare-associated infection and other challenges arising with Point of Care Ultrasound (PoCUS) Percutaneous Cannulation in emergency and critical care
Professor Ramon Shaban
1030-1100 Morning Tea (group photo)
1100-1130 Plenary Session: Lost in Translation
Dr Marielle Ruigrok
1130-1200 Plenary Session: The Battle for Mosul: Why am I here… wouldn’t be anywhere else
Tony Muir, PA
1200-1230 Plenary Session: The weird and wonderful of medical care in the tropics
Brady Tassicker
1230 Farewell Lunch


Conference Committee

Dr Brian Doyle
Australasian College for Emergency Medicine (ACEM)

Bess Swinton & Ryan Posselt
Paramedics Australasia (PA)

Michael Browne
College of Emergency Nursing Australasia (CENA)

Important Dates

Early Bird - June 2018
Conference - 10 - 12 August 2018


Contact the team at Conference Design for questions regarding registration.
Conference Design
© 2015 Conference Design